That Girl Got Too Big For Her Britches.

As with all other life events, a country girl can survive…even coming home. Out of all of my transitions in life, this was probably the most welcome, but the hardest one. We all know that country folk don’t take well to those that ain’t from around here. Well, after surviving the big city and even Europe, I had become that girl. (Hell, I may as well had moved to Florida.) In the process of learning French, I had lost some, if not all, of my southern twang. All of sudden, my friends and family couldn’t understand a word that I was saying. I encountered several people that had something to say about me leaving in the first place.

My words were different, my dress was different, my outlook on life was different…but I was still a country girl at heart. Or I wouldn’t have moved home! I just needed a healthy dose of country to help me readjust.

Here are some lessons learned…

1. Don’t forget where you came from.
2. Fried food, pintos and onions, cornbread and milk and wild game will need to replace hummus and pita, sushi, Italian pies, broiled and blackened meats – who does this to perfectly good meat anyway??
3. Go to your favorite restaurant and order a big ole greasy cheeseburger with slaw, fries loaded down with ketchup and a big glass of southern sweet tea. You will wonder how you ever survived without it.
4. Flannel and jeans – you shoulda never have given this up anyway.
5. Don’t forget where you came from.
6. Dial down your schooling. Now, I ain’t saying that country folk ain’t smart, don’t have some serious degrees and natural talent. I’m just saying that country folk don’t flaunt it, like our city counterparts. In the city, you have to constantly fight for your position at work or keep up with conversations above your pay grade. I understand that and that in itself creates a habit that has no place in the country. Just do your thing and your smarts will speak for itself.
7. Forget the word clubbing and think Friday night football games and tail gates. Same scene, but better music and way less cheaper!
8. Get all of your stuff done before 9pm. Remember us country folks got no good reason to be out that late.
9. Identify your politics. Country folk ain’t got no use for those that are undecided.
10. Don’t forget where you came from.

PS – britches are pants for any city folk tuning in.

I LOVE to read your comments. Tell me what you encountered when you returned to the country – even if just for a visit!

2 thoughts on “That Girl Got Too Big For Her Britches.

  1. THIS is the hardest part of living in the city. I don’t technicially live IN the city, I do live in the country, but I work in the city and most of the “country” folk here are actually “city” folk who can’t figure out why they haven’t moved yet. Do you have any idea the looks I get when I go to the dollar store and my pajamas are tucked into my boots? It’s like I have a third head or something. Although, I’ve worked in a bar on and off for a couple years, I’m here to tell you there is nothing better than drinking on my back porch where you can actually see the stars. I thought when I moved here that “clubbing” as you put it or “bar hopping” as people here put it was going to be awesome! You know, because I have never done it before in all of my 25 years of sheltered life in the mountains. Well, no, it’s not awesome. It’s expensive and loud and I inevitably wind up in some sort of pickle because my big southern mouth has offended someone in my blunt honesty that is considered “rudeness” here in the the city. How was I supposed to know that “Honey, you need to cover some of your glory land up” is rude? You shouldn’t even be showing your glory land!!!! I love that you include schooling in this one. People here assume I’m dumber than a box of rocks because I’m a mountain girl and mountain folk aren’t known for their “smarts”. Imagine their surprise when they realize after a conversation with me that my intelligence actually exceeds theirs! Just because I’ve never eaten caviar and can gut a deer doesn’t mean I’m dumb…

    Like

  2. Bonnie,

    I LOVE your blog! I have laughed and laughed. You are wildly funny, witty, and wonderfully charming! Thanks for this!

    I can relate. I consider myself to be fairly intelligent, well read, and have a pretty good grasp of worldly topics. However I grew up in a very small town in the mountains of NC and I LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT! As you have attested, the city and the country are worlds apart. But I considered myself a well rounded individual because I grew up in the country environment. My Grandfather showed me how to skin a squirrel at 8. I puked, of course, but I did it. If times get rough….just saying… Anyway, my point is that I own a gun, or 3, I’ve sat on tailgate by a bonfire, I understand the value of Friday Night Football, I have witnessed the opossum drop on NYE. But some how in my quest to see what the rest of the world thought of me, I lost something and didn’t even know it. A couple of years ago I returned home to attend the funeral of a dear friend’s mother. I saw people I had not seen in over a decade. These people I LOVED and spent a large portion of my teenage years with them. As soon as I opened my mouth, I got the looks. The more I spoke, the more they looked at me as if I had fourteen heads! I was crushed. I couldn’t understand. It took a while, but I have figured out how to navigate both worlds by keeping the words “never forget where you came from” close to my heart. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

