You Ain’t Got No Corn for Sell…

One thing that I quickly learned is that people in the big city are always in a hurry and couldn’t care two cents how you are doing. So no eye contact, awkward smiles, small talk and frequent waves to people you don’t know. You go where you need to go, say what you need to say and look down while you walk.

In my seven years in Raleigh, I never once saw a bunch of older folks rocking away the afternoon at a gas station or anyone just sharing a sunset, sweet iced tea and a front porch for that matter. So act important! No sitting around…for any reason. This was a hard-learned lesson for me. The first thing I did when I moved into my apartment complex was go knock on my neighbors’ doors. Don’t do this.

One thought on “You Ain’t Got No Corn for Sell…

Leave a Reply

